This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you agree to our use of cookies. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies policy.

New Journal of Physics

  • Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft

    The Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG) with a tradition extending back to 1845 is the largest physical society in the world with more than 61,000 members. The DPG sees itself as the forum and mouthpiece for physics and is a non-profit organisation that does not pursue financial interests. It supports the sharing of ideas and thoughts within the scientific community, fosters physics teaching and would also like to open a window to physics for all those with a healthy curiosity.

  • IOP Institute of Physics

    The Institute of Physics (IOP) is a leading scientific society promoting physics and bringing physicists together for the benefit of all. It has a worldwide membership of around 40 000 comprising physicists from all sectors, as well as those with an interest in physics. It works to advance physics research, application and education; and engages with policy makers and the public to develop awareness and understanding of physics. Its publishing company, IOP Publishing, is a world leader in professional scientific communications.

Deutsche Physikalische Gessellschaft IOP Institute of Physics

Video abstracts

video abstract icon

Video abstracts are a brand new content stream for New Journal of Physics, aimed at increasing yet further the visibility of our authors and their work. Through this video media authors can now go beyond the constraints of the written article to convey their research, and provide a new, enhanced user experience for the journal's global audience.

NJP articles with a video abstract are flagged with the video abstracts icon symbol. The technical specifications and submission process are detailed in the video abstract guidelines, while our 'how to' guide offers creative advice. You can also read some of our author quotations.

We are pleased to announce that Vivek N Prakash, Yoshiyuki Tagawa, Enrico Calzavarini, Julián Martínez Mercado, Federico Toschi, Detlef Lohse and Chao Sun have won the video abstract competition with their video: How gravity and size affect the acceleration statistics of bubbles in turbulence. The runners-up are Johannes Klinglmayr, Christoph Kirst, Christian Bettstetter and Marc Timme with their video: Guaranteeing global synchronization in networks with stochastic interactions.
Congratulations also go to our prize-draw winner Anneli Björkman.


1 of 21

Pulsed cooperative backward emissions from non-degenerate atomic transitions in sodium Jonathan V Thompson, Charles W Ballmann, Han Cai, Zhenhuan Yi, Yuri V Rostovtsev, Alexei V Sokolov, Phillip Hemmer, Aleksei M Zheltikov, Gombojav O Ariunbold and Marlan O Scully 2014 New J. Phys. 16 103017 View article PDF (950 KB)

Exploring the adaptive voter model dynamics with a mathematical triple jump Holly Silk, Güven Demirel, Martin Homer and Thilo Gross 2014 New J. Phys. 16 093051 View article PDF (437 KB)

Long range triplet Josephson current and 0−π transitions in tunable domain walls Thomas E Baker, Adam Richie-Halford and Andreas Bill 2014 New J. Phys. 16 093048 View article PDF (700 KB)

High order harmonics from relativistic electron spikes Alexander S Pirozhkov, Masaki Kando, Timur Zh Esirkepov, Pablo Gallegos, Hamad Ahmed, Eugene N Ragozin, Anatoly Ya Faenov, Tatiana A Pikuz, Tetsuya Kawachi, Akito Sagisaka, James K Koga, Mireille Coury, James Green, Peta Foster, Ceri Brenner, Brendan Dromey, Dan R Symes, Michiaki Mori, Keigo Kawase, Takashi Kameshima, Yuji Fukuda, Liming Chen, Izuru Daito, Koichi Ogura, Yukio Hayashi, Hideyuki Kotaki, Hiromitsu Kiriyama, Hajime Okada, Nobuyuki Nishimori, Takashi Imazono, Kiminori Kondo, Toyoaki Kimura, Toshiki Tajima, Hiroyuki Daido, Pattathil Rajeev, Paul McKenna, Marco Borghesi, David Neely, Yoshiaki Kato and Sergei V Bulanov 2014 New J. Phys. 16 093003 View article PDF (4.95 MB)

Manifestations of geometric phase and enhanced spin Hall shifts in an optical trap Basudev Roy, Nirmalya Ghosh, Ayan Banerjee, Subhasish Dutta Gupta and Soumyajit Roy 2014 New J. Phys. 16 083037 View article PDF (1.32 MB)

Scaling of viscous dynamics in simple liquids: theory, simulation and experiment L Bøhling, T S Ingebrigtsen, A Grzybowski, M Paluch, J C Dyre and T B Schrøder 2012 New J. Phys. 14 113035 View article PDF (634 KB)

A two-species continuum model for aeolian sand transport M Lämmel, D Rings and K Kroy 2012 New J. Phys. 14 093037 View article PDF (818 KB)

1 of 21

View by subject